This button is used to permanently delete the image being displayed on the camera’s monitor. If there is an image not worthy of saving, push the “delete” button. A confirmation screen will be displayed. Push “delete” button again to permanently delete the image. Use this button often! Remember: The difference between a good photographer and a bad photographer is a good photographer never shows a bad image (a bad photographer shows them all). There is a reason this button’s icon is a garbage can!